Portrait of a Professional: May 2010

MOFFETT FEDERAL AIRFIELD, Calif. -- Portrait of a Professional is a monthly profile of an outstanding Staff Sgt. and below. Senior Airman Alan Bowers, an integrated aviations systems journeyman specializing in electronic warfare with the 129th Maintenance Squadron is featured as this month's Portrait of a Professional.

What is your favorite memory in the Air Force?
I would have to say going to the Philippines to aid in humanitarian missions with my previous active duty unit. I was in active duty for four years, stationed at Kadena Air Force Base over in Okinawa, Japan, and we did many humanitarian missions during my stay there. This one in particular, we flew over with two of our aircraft and basically airlifted about 30 people from one location to another, helping them get out of a particular area that was in danger.

What motivated you to enlist in the AF?
I did went to college for a year then decided to join the military, and went to active duty for independence and more money for school. I had no idea the guard existed, had I known I would have been here for about five years now.

How has being an Airman changed your outlook on life?
Over my span of four years in active duty, I realized there was a lot more that slacking off after high school and partying in college. It taught me a lot about being humble, respecting authority figures and being committed and dedicated to something so big. It also helped me a lot with organization.

What's the most important lesson you've learned in the military?
Organization! Being on top of your work and knowing your limits, as well as those around you.

If you could deploy anywhere in the world, where would you go?

Back to Southeast Asian...the Philippines, Thailand, Indonesia. I think those places have the best opportunities for a well rounded deployment. To me a well rounded deployment involves work and sense of job accomplishment, knowing that your job is well recognized.

If you could choose any AF job, which would it be? Why?
I plan to get my degree in criminal justice, so I would love to be in the Air Force Office of Special Investigations. I've always loved law enforcement and I knew a few people in OSI at my previous duty station and their jobs seemed pretty awesome.

Where did you grow up?
Scotts Valley, Calif.

What is your job in the civilian world?
Right now I'm a full time student at Cabrillo Community College in Aptos, Calif.

What would people be surprised to know about you?

I like working on cars and legally racing them. I'm still an amateur.

What are your hobbies?
I really like to play golf.