Rescue Crew Takes MacKay Trophy

MOFFETT FEDERAL AIRFIELD, Calif. -- The National Aeronautics Association selected four Airmen from Kadena Air Base Japan who comprised Pedro 16 of the 129th Expeditionary Rescue Squadron at Kandahar Airfield, Afghanistan, for the 2009 MacKay Trophy. Capt. Robert Rosebrough, 1st Lt. Lucas Will, Master Sgt. Dustin Thomas and Staff Sgt. Tim Philpott, the crew of, an HH-60G Pave Hawk combat search and rescue helicopter, have been recognized for the MacKay Trophy year's most meritorious flight. The crew will be recognized by Air Force leaders this fall when the MacKay Trophy is officially presented in Washington, D.C. for their efforts in saving the crew of a downed Air Force aircraft and three Soldiers in Afghanistan. The downed aircraft, Pedro 15, consisted of 129th Rescue Squadron HH-60G pilots Major George Dona and Capt. Mary Jennings, who received a Purple Heart for this mission, along with 129th RQS flight engineer Senior Master Sgt. Steven Burt and 129th RQS aerial gunner Tech Sgt. Tiejie Jones, all assigned to the 129th Rescue Wing from Moffett Federal Airfield. During a July 29, 2009, mission, Pedro 16 directed rescue operations by Pedro 15 to retrieve wounded soldiers from an active firefight, kept in radio contact with the ground commander, and provided emergency close air support, returning fire themselves and acting as forward air control for two Army OH-58 helicopters. The MacKay Trophy, which dates back to 1912, and the Jolly Green Association's most outstanding rescue mission of the year awards bring even more acclaim to the 33rd Rescue Squadron.