June 2010 Portrait of a Professional

MOFFETT FEDERAL AIRFIELD, Calif. -- Portrait of a Professional is a monthly profile of an outstanding Staff Sgt. and below. Senior Airman Sarah Fepuleai, a supply management journeyman specializing in material handling with the 129th Logistics Readiness Squadron is featured as this month's Portrait of a Professional.

What is your favorite memory in the AF?
Last year we had annual training within our squadron. We had a lot of brand new people coming in and we had a chance to really get to know each other and have a good time during that week. After work we would do fun activities like a fun run and we even went to lazer tag. It's cool because you get to know your wingmen.

What motivated you to enlist in the AF?
I've always wanted to be in the military, my families support and having my children made the decision easier as well. I wanted something new and different for them, I wanted to continue school and the military has great opportunities. Plus, my dad was a Marine, my brother is an officer in the Army and my sister is in the Air Force as well.

How has being an Airman changed your outlook on life?
I'm more independent and disciplined. I was disciplined growing up with a dad in the Marines, but it's a different kind of feeling when you're the one in the military, when you're actually wearing the uniform and you're out there and kids are looking up to you.

What's the most important lesson you've learned in the military?
Definitely teamwork. With work, if we're all doing it together everything falls into place, if one person falls we all hurt , it's like a domino effect and have to work together to get the job done.

If you could deploy anywhere in the world, where would you go?
I want to deploy and if I could I would go anywhere overseas, preferably China. I don't mind going to Iraq or Afghanistan but i would enjoy something different and exotic like China.

If you could choose any AF job, which would it be? Why?
I was looking online at some of the jobs the 129th offers and aerospace medical specialist caught my eye because I've always had a passion for the medical field.

Where did you grow up?
Pago Pago, America-Samoa

What is your job in the civilian world?
I work on base full time as a technician.

What would people be surprised to know about you?
For about a year and a half, I lived out of state but I still came here to drill. People told me to transfer, but I didn't want to, I really like this base and the job I have here. Basically I was paying my own ticket to come to work, I was losing a little money but I didn't mind because I'd rather gain all of the knowledge and experience working here than transfer.

What are your hobbies?
I like to spend as much time with my kids as possible. I love sports, I like playing basket ball and volley ball. I play the piano.